top of page
Search
Koko B

Viewing Platforms


During the COVID-19 pandemic, I hid behind the fact that my family was stuck at home. My friends and I began to heavily binge Ted Lasso, 90s sitcoms, and anime. As more and more shows came out, I began to subscribe to streaming platforms, and before I knew it, Disney+, Hulu, Netflix, and HBO Max were part of my routine. When new shows came out, sometimes they would only be available on a certain service, and it felt like subscribing to almost everything was the answer. I assumed I wasn't the only person hooked on what these platforms had to offer, so I decided to interview a few fellow students.


Across the board, Netflix and Hulu were the most popular. After a bit of research, I found that most of Netflix’s content is comedy, drama, documentaries, and animations. Hulu + Live TV offers a live stream option from news channels like, “TLC, CBS, ABC News, Animal Planet, Complex, Freeform, FX, and others,” according to Lifewire.

Of course, if you're more interested in the sports aspect of TV, ESPN+ is the place to go. Insider states, “Subscribers can watch live games from the MLB, NHL, and MLS when their seasons are active; There's also PGA golf, UFC, college football, international soccer, and tennis,” referring to ESPN+.


If you're one of the huge fan following of DC or blockbuster movies, HBO Max is your turf. Home to Batman and Robin, this service definitely won't disappoint.


Finally, Disney+ couldn’t escape my list of favorites. A feeling of nostalgia overwhelms when familiar titles pop up like Cinderella, Lady and the Tramp, and Avengers. Disney+ also provides new titles like Soul, Black Widow, Hawkeye, Cruella, and The Beatles: Get Back. You are bound to find something interesting!


Overall, it seemed like the struggle of subscribing to so many platforms was tough because once subscribed, it could become hard to find what to watch with all the options. I asked a few students what their top three favorite movies and TV shows were for some suggestions.


Lida K. suggests Owl House (Netflix), Amphibia (Disney+), and She-ra (Netflix).


Some other student-suggested shows include:


  • ​​Raven’s Home

  • Wonder

  • Encanto

  • Modern Family

  • Riverdale

  • Outer Banks

  • Will & Grace.

  • Owl House

  • Amphibia

  • She-Ra

  • Top Gun

  • Home Alone

  • Field of Dreams


I truly hope this article helped to streamline where you can watch what. Streaming platforms are a huge part of the entertainment world, and finding out what streaming platform offers you the things you like can be a bit complicated and expensive. Happy watching!



Sources:




72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page