top of page
Search
Hudson H

Appreciation For Our Parents


Our parents are loving, kind, and always help us out in our times of need. They are by our side no matter what happens. They will always be there and will always love us. Sometimes we may forget to show proper appreciation for them because we are so busy with school work and extracurricular activities. This has happened to me, and I bet it has happened to you too! I want to examine this and hope it will help us all better appreciate our parents for all the hard work they do.

As soon as I began pondering this, I knew I needed help from my classmates, so I created a Google form and asked some pertinent questions. Thanks to everyone who responded! I really enjoyed the read! Some answers were quite unique, while several were very similar.

Expressions of appreciation can come in many forms; whether it’s a card or flowers or just helping your parents when needed, giving back is essential. Something that my dad is adamant about is going to sleep early. This may not be true for every household, but in mine, getting enough sleep is a top priority. I have recently noticed the peace of mind I give my parents when I go to bed at a decent hour. 40% of my respondents go to bed between nine and ten o’clock. 20% lay their head on a pillow between ten and eleven o’clock, while another 20% hit the rack between eleven and midnight. Only 14% hit the hay between eight and nine and a meager 6% say goodnight before eight o’clock. I wonder if that last group wakes up extra early to finish up homework or practice guitar…

My data showed that students who went to bed between seven and nine had parents who were pleased with this bedtime. Those who went to sleep after nine p.m. said “maybe” their parents were happy. Methinks no one wished to call out an unhappy parent. That’s nice. As I hypothesized, an earlier bedtime makes for a happier parent. This is one way we can show our parents more appreciation. (Note: an earlier bedtime also has many health benefits including a healthier heart, energy boost, better skin, more confidence, less stress and anxiety, improved memory, and more happiness!) Our parents do genuinely care about our well-being and have made sacrifices for us, yet they do not ask for anything in return.

Another way to show our parents how much they mean to us, though perhaps less subtly, is through a thoughtful gift or something as simple as a few spoken words. After reading many responses, I am so pleasantly surprised by the things that people have come up with! One student spent all night hand-knitting blankets that her parents use all the time and love dearly. Another made a giant collage of their family, for her family. Another student got one of their parents an Italian cookbook. Many respondents write handwritten little notes or cards for their parents. A very creative idea was a “free pass jar” that allowed parents to make their kids do something in the moment (like putting away extra dishes or making their bed, etc.). Reflecting on all of these answers, I found a connection. Are you a great writer? A crafter? Play an instrument? These kinds of gifts are more personal. Creating a gift that only you can make can be a special way of making them feel appreciated. Everyone loves personalized gifts. The value from a personal gift isn’t about the perfect polishing, but it’s about the person who created it. If you think about it, they deserve it, right? It lets them know this gift was freely given out of love.

Parents live to see that their words and life lessons were not wasted or ignored. They love to see their children succeed, so they put time and effort into teaching us life lessons. Sharing their ebbs and flows, and when we take it all in--- it makes them feel heard. Spending a little time with them, seeking their wisdom, or picking their brain makes them feel incredibly valued. By relaying to your parents any type of appreciation is to show them that you took action, listened and that you cherish what they have passed on to you.

I leave you with this: these random acts of kindness will always brighten a parent’s day and can be the most fun to plan and execute. Many students have brought their parents coffee, tea, or even breakfast in bed on a weekend morning. Some have offered to babysit a younger sibling while mom and dad go for a walk. One student loves making little drawings for their parents. You need no reason to show appreciation for your parents, but I hope you’re as inspired by these ideas as I was to take this opportunity to treat our beloved, caring parents in an extra special way. Take advantage of giving back to the people who loved you and raised you and kept you safe thus far. If anything else, you can simply use this time to say, “I love you” -- something every parent appreciates.

89 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Leo Delpy-Streitenfeld
Leo Delpy-Streitenfeld
Mar 26, 2021

this is really cool!

Like

Devin Johnson
Devin Johnson
Mar 26, 2021

This is such a great post! I loved reading it and will try to think of more ways to be appreciative of my parents!

Like
bottom of page